Fort Smith/Fayetteville News | 5newsonline KFSM 5NEWS | Get the local news and weather where you live from 5NEWS. Covering Fort Smith, Fayetteville, Bentonville, and all of Northwest Arkansas and the River Valley.

Razorbacks Earn No. 5 National Seed

FAYETTEVILLE (KFSM) – Postseason baseball and Baum-Walker Stadium go hand-in-hand and the two will be paired together again as Arkansas was named one of t...
Baum Stadium

FAYETTEVILLE (KFSM) – Postseason baseball and Baum-Walker Stadium go hand-in-hand and the two will be paired together again as Arkansas was named one of the 16 hosts for the NCAA Regionals.

The Razorbacks were one of six SEC schools selected as a host site and one of four picked as a national seed as the Hogs are the No. 5 national seed. Arkansas will be hosting a regional for the eighth time in school history, all since the 1999 season, as well as for the third consecutive year. The Fayetteville regional will be paired with the Oxford regional as Ole Miss is the No. 12 national seed.

Regional play starts on Friday and will be a double elimination format involving Arkansas and three other schools. Arkansas will face Central Connecticut State at 1 p.m. in the opener on Friday. TCU and Cal are coming to Fayetteville as well. Ole Miss, Jacksonsville State, Clemson and Illinois make up the Oxford regional.

Central Connecticut State enters the NCAA tournament with a 30-21 and won the Northeast Conference championship and lost their only contest against a team from a major conference, a 10-8 defeat to Kansas on Mar. 12.

Cal went 32-18 while going 17-11 in the Pac-12 and won their final three games of the regular season. The Pac-12 does not have a conference tournament but the Bears did post a 15-8 road record this season.

TCU was a bit of a surprise to make the tournament as the Horned Frogs went just 11-13 in the Big XII but they did reach the conference tournament title game as they won games against Oklahoma, Baylor and Oklahoma State. TCU lost two games to the Cowboys, including the title game.

Georgia, LSU, Vanderbilt, Mississippi State and Ole Miss were all selected to host a regional from the SEC while Oklahoma State, West Virginia and Texas Tech were selected from the Big XII. Due to field conditions, Oklahoma State has been forced to move their regional to Oklahoma City.

Arkansas won a share of the SEC West after going 20-10 in the conference, the first time under coach Dave Van Horn in which the Razorbacks won 20 games against league opponents. Arkansas takes a 41-17 overall record into the NCAA Tournament, two victories more at this point than last year’s squad that finished as national runner-up.

Here is the list of top eight national seeds:

  1. UCLA
  2. Vanderbilt
  3. Georgia Tech
  4. Georgia
  5. Arkansas
  6. Mississippi State
  7. Louisville
  8. Texas Tech

Here is the list of all 16 host sites/schools:

•    Athens, Georgia – Georgia (44-15)
•    Atlanta, Georgia – Georgia Tech (41-17)
•    Baton Rouge, Louisiana – LSU (37-24)
•    Chapel Hill, North Carolina – North Carolina (42-17)
•    Corvallis, Oregon – Oregon St. (36-18-1)
•    Fayetteville, Arkansas – Arkansas (41-17)
•    Greenville, North Carolina – East Carolina (43-15)
•    Los Angeles, California – UCLA (47-8)
•    Louisville, Kentucky – Louisville (43-15)
•    Lubbock, Texas – Texas Tech (39-17)
•    Morgantown, West Virginia – West Virginia (37-20)
•    Nashville, Tennessee – Vanderbilt (49-10)
•    Oxford, Mississippi – Ole Miss (37-25)
•    Stanford, California – Stanford (41-11)
•    Starkville, Mississippi – Mississippi St. (46-13)
•    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma – Oklahoma St. (35-18)