Fort Smith/Fayetteville News | 5newsonline KFSM 5NEWS | Get the local news and weather where you live from 5NEWS. Covering Fort Smith, Fayetteville, Bentonville, and all of Northwest Arkansas and the River Valley.

Henry, Williams Lead Way For Hogs On Media’s All-SEC Teams

Arkansas tight end named All-SEC second team by media
Hunter Henry

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (KFSM) – It came as no surprise that Hunter Henry was named to the All-SEC teams by the media during SEC Media Days. However it came as a bit of a shock that the Little Rock native was not on the first team offensive squad.

Henry, who hauled in 37 passes for more than 500 yards last season as a sophomore, was named second team All-SEC by the media with the first team nod going to Ole Miss tight end Evan Engram.

Arkansas running back Jonathan Williams and offensive linemen Dan Skipper and Denver Kirkland were also named to the media’s second team while junior running back Alex Collins and offensive lineman Sebastian Tretola were named to the third team.

Senior quarterback Brandon Allen was not among those honored as Mississippi State’s Dak Prescott was named as first team quarterback while Auburn’s Jeremy Johnson was named to the second team and Tennessee’s Joshua Dobbs was named to the third team.

Junior linebacker Brooks Ellis was also left off all three team’s just days after being named to the Butkus Award watch list. Arkansas did not have a player on any of the three defensive teams.

Below are the complete All-SEC teams with the number of votes in parenthesis (xx)


First Team

QB: Dak Prescott, Mississippi State (170)

RB: Nick Chubb, Georgia (189), Leonard Fournette, LSU (180)

WR: Laquon Treadwell, Ole Miss (169), D’haquille Williams, Auburn (154)

TE: Evan Engram, Ole Miss (128)

OL: Cam Robinson, Alabama (167), Laremy Tunsil, Ole Miss (159), Vadal Alexander, LSU (131), John Theus, Georgia (129)

C: Ryan Kelly, Alabama (144)

Second Team

QB: Jeremy Johnson, Auburn (89)

RB: Derrick Henry, Alabama (151), Jonathan Williams, Arkansas (82)

WR: Pharoh Cooper, South Carolina (147), De’Runnya Wilson, Mississippi State (59)

TE: Hunter Henry, Arkansas (97)

OL: Germain Ifedi, Texas A&M (124), Dan Skipper, Arkansas (95), Denver Kirkland, Arkansas (85), Greg Pyke, Georgia (83)

C: Mike Matthews, Texas A&M (108)


QB: Joshua Dobbs, Tennessee (62)

RB: Alex Collins, Arkansas (80), Kenyan Drake, Alabama (34)

WR: Malcolm Mitchell, Georgia (50), Josh Reynolds, Texas A&M (39)

TE: O.J. Howard, Alabama (87)

OL: Sebastian Tretola, Arkansas (72), Alex Kozan, Auburn (69), Avery Young, Auburn (57), Brandon Shell, South Carolina (50)

C: Evan Boehm, Missouri (81)


First Team

DL: Robert Nkemdiche, Ole Miss (173), A’Shawn Robinson, Alabama (160), Myles Garrett, Texas A&M (155), Carl Lawson, Auburn (131)

LB: Reggie Ragland, Alabama (181), Jordan Jenkins, Georgia (121), Curt Maggitt, Tennessee (102)

DB: Vernon Hargreaves, Florida (186), Cyrus Jones, Alabama (126), Jonathan Jones, Auburn (122), Jalen Mills, LSU (118)

Second Team

DL: Jonathan Bullard, Florida (115), Derek Barnett, Tennessee (105), Jonathan Allen, Alabama (99), Chris Jones, Mississippi State (93)

LB: Kendell Beckwith, LSU (93), Leonard Floyd, Georgia (92), Cassanova McKinzy, Auburn (80)

DB: Tony Conner, Ole Miss (117), Cameron Sutton, Tennessee (115), Will Redmond, Mississippi State (79), Tre’Davious White, LSU (61)

Third Team

DL: Montravius Adams, Auburn (90), Jarran Reed, Alabama (60), Davon Godchaux, LSU (40), Marquis Haynes, Ole Miss (34)

LB: Kris Frost, Auburn (77), Antonio Morrison, Florida (66), Kentrell Brothers, Missouri (61)

DB: A.J. Stamps, Kentucky (59), Eddie Jackson, Alabama (58), Jamal Adams, LSU (56), Johnathan Ford, Auburn (52)


First Team

P: JK Scott, Alabama (161)

PK: Marshall Morgan, Georgia (100)

RS: Speedy Noil, Texas A&M (117)

AP: Pharoh Cooper, South Carolina (112)

Second Team

P: Drew Kaser, Texas A&M (92)

PK: Elliott Fry, South Carolina (87)

RS: Pharoh Cooper, South Carolina (75)

AP: Leonard Fournette, LSU (85)

Third Team

P: Jamie Keehn, LSU (52)

PK: Austin MacGinnis, Kentucky (59)

RS: Leonard Fournette, LSU (66)

AP: Speedy Noil, Texas A&M (84)