Breaking News
More () »

Fort Smith/Fayetteville News | 5newsonline KFSM 5NEWS | Get the local news and weather where you live from 5NEWS. Covering Fort Smith, Fayetteville, Bentonville, and all of Northwest Arkansas and the River Valley.

Nine Razorbacks Named To All-SEC Teams

Arkansas ace Isaiah Campbell snubbed
Trevor Ezell

FAYETTEVILLE (KFSM) – When a team shares a division championship, it should come as no surprise that they have players all over the all-conference teams and that’s exactly what Arkansas was honored with on Monday.

Nine different players were named to the various all-SEC teams, including six on the all-SEC second team.

Dominic Fletcher, Matt Goodheart, Heston Kjerstad, Casey Martin, Matt Cronin and Trevor Ezell were all named to the all-SEC second team. The biggest surprise comes as Arkansas starting pitcher Isaiah Campbell was left off the list among those honored. Fletcher and Ezell were also named to the all-defensive team.

Arkansas did not have a representative on the all-SEC first team but co-SEC West champion Mississippi State had four on the top list, including pitcher of the year Ethan Small and freshman of the year JT Ginn.

Pitchers Connor Noland and Patrick Wicklander and outfielder Christian Franklin were each named to the all-freshman team.

Arkansas will play in the SEC tournament as the No. 2 seed on Wednesday against the winner of Ole Miss vs Missouri, which is scheduled to be played on Tuesday.

2019 SEC Baseball Awards

Player of the Year: JJ Bleday, Vanderbilt
Pitcher of the Year: Ethan Small, Mississippi State
Freshman of the Year: JT Ginn, Mississippi State
Coach of the Year: Tim Corbin, Vanderbilt
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Garrett Stallings, Tennessee

First-Team All-SEC
C: Philip Clarke, Vanderbilt
1B: Tanner Allen, Mississippi State
2B: Justin Foscue, Mississippi State
3B: Austin Martin, Vanderbilt
SS: Grae Kessinger, Ole Miss
OF: JJ Bleday, Vanderbilt
OF: Jake Mangum, Mississippi State
OF: Alerick Soularie, Tennessee
DH/UT: Nelson Maldonado, Florida
SP: Ethan Small, Mississippi State
SP: Emerson Hancock, Georgia
RP: Tyler Brown, Vanderbilt

Second-Team All-SEC Team
C: Cooper Johnson, Ole Miss
1B: Trevor Ezell, Arkansas
2B: LJ Talley, Georgia
3B: Aaron Schunk, Georgia
SS: Casey Martin, Arkansas
OF: Dominic Fletcher, Arkansas
OF: Heston Kjerstad, Arkansas
OF: Antoine Duplantis, LSU
DH/UT: Matt Goodheart, Arkansas
SP: TJ Sikkema, Missouri
SP: Zack Thompson, Kentucky
RP: Matt Cronin, Arkansas

Freshman All-SEC Team
JT Ginn, SP, Mississippi State
Kumar Rocker, SP, Vanderbilt
Doug Nikhazy, SP, Ole Miss
Cole Henry, SP, LSU
Cole Wilcox, SP, Georgia
Patrick Wicklander, SP, Arkansas
Connor Noland, SP, Arkansas
Ryan Bliss, 2B, Auburn
Christian Franklin, OF, Arkansas
Joseph Menefee, RP, Texas A&M
Kendrick Calilao, 1B, Florida
Brett Kerry, RP, South Carolina

SEC All-Defensive Team
C: Cooper Johnson, Ole Miss
1B: Trevor Ezell, Arkansas*
1B: Julian Infante, Vanderbilt*
2B: LJ Talley, Georgia
3B: Austin Martin, Vanderbilt
SS: Cam Shepherd, Georgia
OF: Dominic Fletcher, Arkansas
OF: Jake Mangum, Mississippi State
OF: Zach Watson, LSU
P: Garrett Stallings, Tennessee

*Tie (Ties are not broken)